River Road Unitarian Universalist Congregation

QRcode for page


Climate Change & Energy Efficiency-2014-2015



 To view a videotape of "Ethics, the Environment, and Avoiding the Collapse of Civilization" presented by Paul Ehrlich at RRUUC on April 27, 2014, click HERE.

To join the e-list of the Environmental Task Force, please send an email to rruuc.etf(at)gmail.com with  'Join List' in the message line.

As a UUA Green Sanctuary, RRUUC is committed to creating a religious community that has a fundamental, bottom-line, commitment to living in harmony with the Earth and that promotes sustainable lifestyles for its members as individuals and as a faith community. 

The Environmental Task Force (ETF) focuses on education and raising RRUUC awareness about environmental justice by inspiring, facilitating and supporting personal, congregational and denominational practices that sustain the Earth and promote justice for those impacted by environmental degradation.  Activities are available to fit members' various schedules and interests.  These include:

  • Advocacy: Working for environmental policy changes at the local, state, and national levels as needed;
  • Alternative Energy: Congregational initiatives to promote personal and institutional use of energy alternatives to fossil fuels;
  • Natural Resources Conservation: Building congregational awareness about the need to protect natural resources locally and globally, from providing clean affordable water as a human right to preventing mountaintop removal coal mining in nearby Appalachia;
  • Lifestyles to Promote Environmental Sustainability: Supporting local food production, food security, and environmentally low-impact food processing as well as best practices for recycling and low-carbon transportation options
  • Earth Day Activities: Collaborating with Washington area programs to promote Earth Day on April 22;
  • Special Events: Speakers and field trips to promote congregational understanding of the UU principle of the 'interconnected web of life'

Contact: Co-Chairs: Jack Lebowitz and Charlotte Moser; Steering Committee: Marney Bruce and Walter Weiss